Biography

Simon Fluri is a passionate soloist, chamber musician and improviser. Ranging from contemporary works to transcriptions of Bach he familiarizes his audience with the various sounds of the saxophone. The young musician creates lasting concert experiences with works by current composers and with immersive concert formats.

With enthusiasm he performs regularly with his Duo Kaamos and in the Lamineur Quartet. Among others he has performed in concert halls such as KKL, Tonhalle Zurich and Casino Bern as well as festivals such as St. Galler Festspiele, Arosa Klassik, La Prairie Bellmund, Alpen Classica, the saxophone congresses in Strasbourg and Gran Canaria, as well as the SaxFest Zurich, which he also helped organize. As a soloist he has played with the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Alpen Classica Euregio Sinfonischen Orchester, the Ensemble Contemporáneo in Gran Canaria, the ZHdK Contemporary Ensemble, the HKB-Chamber Orchestra and the Bergensemble Arosa. The saxophonist has twice been awarded the Studienpreis des Migros-Kulturprozent and is now part of their concert management program. He has won further prizes at the Yamaha Europe Music Foundation, the Lions Club Music Competition, the Alpen Classica Festival, the Cibulka Competition and twice with distinction at the Swiss Youth Music Competition. He is also a Hans-Schaeuble award winner and has been supported by the Hirschmann Foundation.

The Swiss musician was born in Canada in 1999. He discovered his fascination for the saxophone with his teacher Christian Roellinger. During high school he attended the Talentförderung Hofwil and was already able to start studying music parallel to his school education. He graduated in 2018 with a Bachelor and in 2020 with a Master of Pedagogy with distinction from the Hochschule der Künste Bern. 2023 he obtained his master’s degree with a specialization in soloist at the Zurich University of the Arts in the internationally renowned class of Lars Mlekusch. During his studies he had the opportunity to learn from Joonatan Rautiola at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. For several years he has also been passing on his passion to his own students.

Simon Fluri mit Sopransax in Zürich

Biographie

Simon Fluri ist leidenschaftlicher Solist und Kammermusiker. Von zeitgenössischen Werken bis zu Transkriptionen von Bach lässt er das Saxophon in einem neuen Licht erklingen. Prägende Konzerterlebnisse kreiert der junge Musiker mit Werken aktueller KomponistInnen und mit immersiven Konzertformaten.

Mit Enthusiasmus tritt er regelmässig mit seinem Duo Kaamos und im Lamineur-Quartett auf. Er konzertierte unter anderem im KKL, in der Tonhalle Zürich und im Casino Bern sowie an Festivals wie die St. Galler Festspiele, Arosa Klassik, La Prairie Bellmund, Alpen Classica, den Saxophonkongressen in Strasbourg und Gran Canaria, wie auch dem SaxFest Zürich, das er auch mitorganisierte. Als Solist spielte er mit dem Musikkollegium Winterthur, dem Alpen Classica Euregio Sinfonischen Orchester, dem Ensemble Contemporáneo in Gran Canaria, dem ZHdK Zeitgenössischen Ensemble, dem HKB-Kammerorchester und dem Bergensemble Arosa. Gleich zweimal wurde der Saxophonist mit dem Studienpreis des Migros-Kulturprozent ausgezeichnet und wurde in dessen Konzertvermittlung aufgenommen. Weitere Preise holte er am Alpen Classica Festival, bei der Yamaha Europe Music Foundation, dem Lions Club Musikwettbewerb, dem Cibulka Wettbewerb und zweimal mit Auszeichnung beim Schweizer Jugendmusikwettbewerb. Ausserdem ist er ein Hans-Schaeuble-Award Preisträger und wurde von der Hirschmann-Stiftung unterstützt.


Der Schweizer Musiker wurde 1999 in Kanada geboren. Er entdeckte seine Begeisterung für das Saxophon bei seinem Lehrer Christian Roellinger. Während der gymnasialen Ausbildung besuchte er die Talentförderung Hofwil und konnte bereits parallel zur schulischen Ausbildung das Musikstudium aufnehmen. Er absolvierte 2018 den Bachelor und 2020 den Master of Pedagogy mit Auszeichnung an der Hochschule der Künste Bern. Den Master of Specialized Music Performance mit der Vertiefung Solist erwarb er 2023 an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste in der renommierten Klasse von Lars Mlekusch. Während seinem Studium hatte er die Möglichkeit an der Sibelius Academy in Helsinki von Joonatan Rautiola zu lernen. Seit mehreren Jahren vermittelt er seine Leidenschaft auch an seine eigenen SchülerInnen.

Simon Fluri mit Sopransax in Zürich